History
  Parish and National Shrine

  MISSIONS

  Mission to Micronesia and Melanesia

  Australian Missions

  Northern Territory

  Eastern Papua Mission

  Japan

  Fiji

  MSC Australia

  OLSH Sisters:

  MSC Sisters

  Parishes

  Colleges

  OTHER APOSTOLATES

  Individuals

 

  Parish and National Shrine

MEMORIES of RANDWICK

A Brief Historical Sketch of the Parish of Randwick During the Last Fifty Years

MARY AGNES FINN

 

PELLEGRINI AND Co

Golden Jubilee of the Missionaries of The Sacred Heart Randwick

 

PART I.—1885-1888.

OBJECT OF THIS BROCHURE.

It is just fifty years since the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart arrived in Randwick, to devote their lives to the spreading of Christ's Kingdom on earth in accord­ance with the beautiful Motto of their Society: "May the Sacred Heart of Jesus be everywhere loved." All too quickly the years have passed, and now it is the happy privilege of the parishioners to rejoice with them on the completion of a Golden Jubilee replete with good works in the cause of religion, education and charity.

The object of this little work is to give the people of the present some insight into the labours of the past, that they may see how rapidly the tiny mustard seed has expanded into a wide-spreading tree and how abundant has been the golden harvest, for the small group of Catholics of fifty years ago now number some thousands.

It may be said that the history of Randwick began about the year 1840 when the first settlers were quick to recognise the beauty of the picturesque site, with its extended views of the Pacific Ocean and the rugged rock-bound coast broken by peaceful bays and shining beaches.

 


At a time when land grants were given to various religious denominations in New South Wales, an area of land situated at the corner of Frenchman's Road and Chapel Street was apportioned to Catholics. That, however, was found unsuitable, and was sold under the authority of an Act of Parliament.

In 1881 the land now occupied in Avoca Street by the Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart was pur. chased from Mr. Aston Watkins.

Here a school-church was erected, the foundation stone of which was blessed by His Grace Archbishop Vaughan—almost his last act before setting out on the journey from which he was never to return.

The little congregation at that time could not boast of more than fifty persons. Their spiritual wants were ministered to by the devoted Franciscan Fathers who had charge of the scattered Missions from South Head to Botany. Mass was celebrated in Randwick every Sunday, and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament given on Sunday afternoons.

In the year 1885 the parish of Randwick-Coogee was detached from Waverley, and confided to the care of the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart who were already established at Botany.

 

FIRST MASS IN THE NEW PARISH.

On November 15th, Feast of St. Gertrude—one of the first apostles of the Sacred Heart—Mass was celebrated in the newly-formed parish of Randwick by Father Michael Tierney, M.S.C. The parishioners had not been apprised of the change, and much sur­prise was manifested when, instead of a brown-robed Franciscan Father, a young priest in a black habit on which was displayed a crimson thorn-encircled heart on a white background, passed into the church.

There was no sacristy in those days, and the priest at once began to vest at the altar and proceeded to cele­brate Mass. When the Holy Sacrifice was concluded, Father Tierney addressed the little congregation, telling them that the parish had been confided to the care of the Sacred Heart Fathers, members of a Mis­sionary Society who had for some time been located at Botany, but whose headquarters would now be at Randwick.

After Mass, Father Tierney came to the church door to be welcomed most heartily by his new congre­gation, although it was but natural that there should be many regrets for the severing of the bonds of affec­tion, which had so long united them with the devoted Franciscan Fathers who had ministered to them.

On November 17th, Father Couppe (Superior), Father Tierney, Father Hartzer, and two ecclesiastical students—Brothers Toublanc and Kutter—arrived, to take up their residence at No. 2 Napper Terrace in close proximity to the scene of their future labours.

 

FIRST CHRISTMAS DAY IN THE PARISH.

The first Christmas Day spent by the Sacred Heart Fathers in Randwick was for the people a real "red letter day."

The bare walls of the little church were decorated with a wealth of greenery and festooning by the two Brothers, which served to cover many defects. The altar, which was of beautiful design and workmanship —the little church's "solitary boast"—was adorned with the choicest flowers and ferns. The Mass was sung by Father Couppe, and ranged around him were six altar boys in new red cassocks and surplices. The choir, under the direction of Miss Emily Finn, rendered Gounod's Messe Solennelle (St. Cecilia). At the end of Mass, Father Tierney delivered a discourse suitable to the joyous Christmas season, and concluded by wishing every grace and blessing to the people of Randwick. The happy day was brought to a fitting close by the singing of Vespers for the first time, the Fathers chanting alternately with the choir. A beautiful statue of the Sacred Heart, which had been presented to the church by Mr. M. Fennelly was then blessed by Father Couppe and the Litany of the Sacred Heart recited, after which Benediction of the Blessed Sacra­ment was given.

 

OPENING OF THE PRIMARY SCHOOL.

In January 1886, the primary school was opened and placed in charge of the Misses Finn. Previously, it had been confided to the Poor Clares who came over from Waverley every day, until lay teachers could be provided. The lay teacher who had succeeded the Nuns resigned at the close of the year, and those to whom the school was now confided undertook the rather up-hill work, until provision could be made for a Community of Nuns.

 

NEW STATUE OF OUR LADY OF THE SACRED HEART.

It is not possible to dwell on all the joyful happen­ings of those early days, for they were filled with spiritual delights, with daily Mass, evening Rosary, and frequent Benediction to which hitherto the people had been strangers. But on May 2nd, a beautiful statue of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart which had been pr­cured from France, was blessed by Father Couppe. It was placed on a pedestal adorned with lights and flowers—the first shrine of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart in Randwick. As Father Couppe knelt to recite the "Memorare," may it not be that his thoughts turned backward to the marvellous shrines of other lands which he had been privileged to see—to the magnificent Basilica of Issoudun, the cradle of the Society, where countless lamps illumine the glorious shrine which is enriched with precious stones, rare marbles, gold and silver, gleaming jewels, all offerings of rich and poor alike, to the Sanctuary where Mary was first greeted as "Our Lady of the Sacred Heart?" Would the day ever come when such a shrine would grace a new sanctuary of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart in this little seaside parish, where Mary's clients would flock to beg of Her to open for them "that Heart which is the inexhaustible source of all graces," in order to dis­tribute to them all the blessings which it contains? Perhaps so, but in the meantime those who looked for the first time on the graceful statue of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, were charmed with the beauty of the benign Mother and Her lovely Child, His tiny finger pointing to Her who holds His Sacred Heart in her pure hands.

 

TWO SOLEMN FESTIVALS.

Thus, throughout the Month of Mary, was the way fittingly prepared for the celebration of the Feast of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart which is celebrated on the last day of May—a stepping stone as it were to the Month of the Sacred Heart. Although the feast fell on a week-day, the church was well filled. A "Missa Cantata" was sung by Father Couppe at eight o'clock, and a few words explanatory of the Feast were spoken by Father Tierney. Devotion to Our Lady of the Sacred Heart was quickly taking root in the parish, for at the evening devotions, which brought to a close the Novena to Our Lady of the Sacred Heart with Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament, nearly every family was represented.

The Feast of the Sacred Heart was also celebrated with all due solemnity, the whole parish joining in the Novena in honour of the Sacred Heart which began on the Feast of "Corpus Christi," when a happy group of children made their first Holy Communion.

 

JOYS OF THOSE FIRST DAYS.

If particular emphasis is laid upon these "first" festivals, it is because of the unmixed pleasure they occasioned to those who still love to recall those happy days which were gladdened with so many spiritual joys, of which, hitherto, by force of circumstances, they had been deprived. Then, too, these "red-letter days" with such rare holidays as "our first picnic," "our first Holy Communion breakfast," "our first concert and children's bazaar," were full of interest to all concerned. No doubt, in the years that followed, we were privileged to take part in grander and more solemn church cere­monies, and more up-to-date picnics than those carefree outings, when the type of conveyance did not cause us any anxiety, as long as the desired end of arriving safely at La Perouse with the picnic hampers intact, was achieved.

 

TWO MISSIONARIES ORDAINED.

On August 10th, 1886, Brother Toublanc and Brother Kutter, who had previously been ordained to the sub-diaconate and diaconate by Cardinal Moran, were raised to the dignity of the priesthood by His Eminence in St. Mary's Cathedral. Next morning, both of the newly-ordained Missionaries celebrated Mass in the school-church, and bestowed their priestly blessing on those present. This particular day was not without its note of sadness, for it was decided that the two young priests should at once leave for Thursday Island to begin their Missionary labours whither Father Couppe had already preceded them.

 

 

 


FIRST MISSION IN THE OLD SCHOOL-CHURCH.

In November, the first Mission was given by the Very Rev. Father Cummings, S.M., and needless to say, proved to be a most wonderful success. Both morning and evening the church was crowded, and as on the closing night some could not gain admission, it was ample proof that the erection of a new church was imperative and should be no longer delayed.

The result was that on the following Sunday a meet­ing of the parishioners was held and a church commit­tee appointed, with Mr. C. Burfitt as secretary. A few weeks later plans of both the church and the pres­bytery were submitted to the congregation, and without any demur it was decided that the work of building the presbytery should be at once begun.

But there was not the same unanimity regarding the church, some objecting that it was on far too large a plan, and prophesying that it would not be filled for years. Yet some of the prophets lived to see the day when the congregation increased by "leaps and bounds," and in order to cope with the needs of the parish it was necessary that four Masses should be celebrated every Sunday.

 

ARRIVAL OF FATHER NAVARRE.

In the meantime, Father Navarre arrived from Thursday Island, joining Father Tierney and Father Hartzer in the work of the parish. The Botany parish was Father Hartzer's special charge, and even to-day his name is still held there in loving veneration.

Missionary Fathers for the Islands came and went; amongst them being Father Durin, Father Leray, Father Bontemps, and many a gallant band of Mis­sionary Brothers, bravely facing the unknown.

Another visitor was the Bishop of Hongkong, Dr. Raimondi, who was collecting throughout Australia for the Far East China Missions. He was accompanied by a bright young ecclesiastical student, Brother Paul Lu Chio, who remained for a time as the guest of the Sacred Heart Fathers. Brother Paul was an apt musi­cian, and no mean violinist, and during his stay rendered great service to the choir.

 

THE FIRST PRESBYTERY.

In the meantime, the building of the presbytery was nearing completion, and in August, 1887, the Fathers entered into possession of their new home. The re­moval from Napper Terrace was effected under difficulties. The distance was short, but the way very rugged, so everything had to be done "by hand," for it was impossible under such circumstances to make use of a van. But the "many hands" of a neighbouring family "made light work," and long before midnight the Fathers were safely housed again. Brother Paul Lu Chio entered heartily into the work, but would trust his violin into no hands but his own.

 

BLESSING AND OPENING OF THE NEW CHURCH.

In April, 1888, remote preparations were begun for the opening of the new church, which was to be dedi­cated to Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, the foundation stone of which had been laid by Cardinal Moran in June, 1887, when £2,000 was collected. Father Tierney and Father Merg, who had arrived a short time previously to take up the duties of Superior, were most anxious that the opening of the church should be marked by solemnities worthy of the great occasion.

There was the music to be considered, but the old harmonium which had so long done duty in the school-church, would be completely out of place in the choir gallery. Edwin Finn suggested the purchase of an organ for a reasonable sum, which Mr. T. Banks, organist of St. Mary's Cathedral, highly recommended. This was agreed to, and the new instrument was soon installed in the choir gallery in readiness for the opening day.

The church was blessed and opened by His Eminence Cardinal Moran on Sunday, May 6th, and dedicated to "Our Lady of the Sacred Heart." The ladies of the parish had been invited to undertake the decoration of the church and sanctuary. The altar, after having been removed from the school-church, had been renovated and decorated in white and gold, with rich red plush hangings and gold fringe as a back­ground. Gifts of the choicest flowers poured in for the decoration of the altars, several prominent non-Catholic ladies sending contributions from their gar­dens. Tall palms, pot-plants, and long festoons of greenery—the work of many willing hands for several days—linked from pillar to pillar, lent a very festive appearance to the interior of the church.

The celebrant of the High Mass was Dr. Doyle, Bishop of Grafton; Deacon, the Rev. J. J. Byrne; Sub-Deacon, the Rev. Father Ginisty, S.M.; Assistant Priest Very Rev. C. M. Joly, S.M.; Master of Ceremonies Rev. M. Tierney, M.S.C. Attendants on the Car­dinal, Dr. O'Haran and Father Doran. Also pre­sent were Right Rev. Dr. Murray, Bishop of Maitland; Right Rev. Dr. O'Reily, Port Augusta; Very Rev. Father Merg, M.S.C. The sermon was preached by Dr. O'Reily, Bishop of Port Augusta, whose text was "The God of Heaven helpeth us and we are His ser­vants, let us rise up and build." The Mass chosen for the occasion was "Mozart's Twelfth." Mr. T. Banks presided at the organ, and the singers included many names prominent in musical circles—Mesdames W. MacDonald, F. Riley, Josephine O'Reilly, Messrs. Hallewell and Hinchy. Others who assisted were Mrs. Finn, Miss Stafford, Mr. F. Leston, Mr. T. Ryan, and the local choir. The great day on which Our Lady took possession of her new sanctuary was brought to a close by Vespers, Sermon and Benediction. It may be recorded here that Our Lady's marble altar was the gift of Mrs. H. Oxenham, while the expenses incurred for completing the baptistery and the baptismal font were defrayed by Mrs. P. R. Larkin; later on the Sanctuary Lamp was presented by Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Scott, Senr.

It will not be possible to include in this small volume the names of all those who have been prominent in parochial affairs during the long span of fifty years, but it may be permissible to mention those who were asso­ciated with the parish from its inception, and who may well be called the Randwick pioneers. These include Messrs. Aston Watkins, M. Fennelly, V. Heaton, T. Payten, P. Hogan, T. Hogan, P. R. Larkin, Dr. Dono-van, S. Fielder, John Hardiman, Martin King, C Mooney, C. Higgins, P. F. Martin, C. Burfitt, John Finn, W. F. Brennan, J. Roarty, T. O'Sullivan, A. B. Riley, John Walsh, H. Rayner, A. Farrell, W. Mac-Donald, Mrs. E. Farrell, Mrs. Scanlon, Mrs. Mann, Mrs. Keane, Mrs. Robertson, Mrs. Callaghan, Mrs. Auber Jones, Mr. J. B. Olliffe, Mr. and Mrs. Dine, M. Duify, P. Graham, Mrs. Hickey, Mrs. Maher, J. McGree, T. Farrelly, A. McGavock, M. and C. Farrelley.

 

PART II.—1888-1904.

 

RED-LETTER DAY FOR THE CHILDREN.

The first page of the history of the church in Rand-wick is closed, and we pass on to the fruitful years that followed the opening of the beautiful Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart. The congregation began rapidly to grow larger, and there were not many empty pews. Each Feast Day brought its own spiritual joys5 each concert, or other entertainment—and they were many—did a little towards reducing the church debt or aided in providing necessaries for the altar.

Special mention must be made of a school treat on The Feast of St. Aloysius, following the opening of the church. Instead of a picnic, a tea-party on a generous scale was held in the school-room which was gaily decorated for the occasion. The teachers were aided in their efforts by Mrs. Aston Watkins and Mrs. Finn, and a dainty repast was provided for the children, who highly appreciated it. After the party, the parents and friends of the children were invited to a concert given by the pupils under the direction of Miss E. Finn. Father Fitzgerald, O.F.M., and Dr. Barry, O.S.B., honoured the children with their presence, as well as Father Merg and Father Tierney. There may be "some grown-up children" working in the parish to­day who remember that "red-letter" evening. The concert was so successful that Father Tierney sug­gested repeating it one afternoon for the old people in the home of the Little Sisters of the Poor, to their very evident enjoyment.

 

WELCOME TO BISHOP NAVARRE, M.S.C.

All this time Missionary Fathers and Brothers were coming and going, and from them we gained much insight into the arduous work of these pioneers of the distant Mission fields.

In August, 1888, Dr. Navarre, who had been conse­crated Bishop in France in 1887, returned to Sydney, accompanied by two ecclesiastical students—Brother Mesmin Fromm and Brother Jean Vitali—and five lay-Brothers.

The children prepared a great welcome for His Lordship, which was thus referred to in the "Freeman's Journal":—"A very pleasing little re-union took place in the Catholic school-room, Randwick, on Thursday last, when the children of the parish assembled to wel­come Dr. Navarre, Bishop of New Guinea. The school, gaily decorated with festoonings of ferns and flowers and gay with Chinese lanterns, was filled with the parents and friends of the pupils. Surrounding the Bishop were the Very Rev. Father Le Rennetal, S.M., Father Kennedy, O.F.M., Father Gaynor, O.F.M., Father Birch, O.F.M., Father Fitzgerald, O.F.M., Father Madden of the Sacred Heart parish, Father Merg, M.S.C., Father Tierney, M.S.C., and other Mission­aries of the Sacred Heart. Messrs. Lowe (Mayor of Randwick), C. Burfitt, V. Heaton, Aston Watkins, J. Finn, J. Roarty, and other residents of Randwick were also present. The Bishop entered the building to the strains of a very spirited march, and was greeted by the children with an "Ode of Welcome," composed and set to music for the occasion. A very creditable pro­gramme of songs and recitations was then gone through.

A heartfelt expression of gratitude was tendered to the teachers and children by Father Merg, on behalf of his Lordship*

During this visit Dr. Navarre gave Holy Communion to a band of first communicants, and adminis­tered the Sacrament of Confirmation to a large number of candidates.

Before his departure, Dr. Navarre ordained Brother Fromm to the priesthood—the first ordination in the Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart.

 

..SODALITY OF THE CHILDREN OF MARY.

On the 9th September, 1888, the Congregation of Children of Mary was established in Randwick, and ever since "down the arches of the years" they have taken, cheerfully and unceasingly, a large share in the social work of the parish. The children marched into the Church singing the hymn "Immaculate," and took their places in front of Our Lady's altar. When the recitation of the Rosary by Father Tierney was ended, a short discourse was delivered by Father Merg. After the reception of the Aspirants and Children of Mary, a procession was formed and the Litany of the Blessed Virgin was sung. Benediction was then given, and the beautiful ceremony ended with the singing of "Oh! Flower of Grace."

The first office-bearers were: Director, Rev. Fr. Merg; President, Mary Agnes Finn; Assistant, Ada Roarty; Secretary, Emily Finn; Treasurer, Ethel Browne; Councillors, Julia Greeneklee, Kathleen Finn; Sacristans, Fanny Eager, Bertha Finn.

 

ARCH-CONFRATERNITY OF OUR LADY OF THE SACRED HEART.

An outstanding festival was June 2nd, 1889, the first Sunday of the Month of the Sacred Heart, with which was linked the Feast of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart. On this auspicious day was erected the Arch-confraternity of "Our Lady of the Sacred Heart," having its centre in the sanctuary in Randwick, which bears Her name. The object of the Arch-confraternity is to signify by this beautiful title the ineffable relations of love which exist between the Sacred Heart and Our Blessed Lady; and to obtain through her all-powerful intercession, from the Sacred Heart of Jesus, the success of difficult and hopeless cases.

At an early hour the church was thronged to assist at Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament, which began at the first Mass, when the Guard of Honour, the Children of Mary, and the whole congregation made a General Communion of reparation to the Sacred Heart.

High Mass was celebrated by the Very Rev. Dr. Barry, O.S.B., with Father Meagher (Singleton) as deacon, and Father Patrick, C.P., as Sub-deacon; Father Merg was Master of Ceremonies. The sermon was preached by Rev. J. J. Byrne (St. Mary's Cathedral). The choir was considerably augmented for the occasion by visitors from St. Mary's. In the evening, Vespers were sung, and after a sermon by Rev. Father Merg, M.S.C., the congregation, with lighted candles in their hands, pronounced the Act of Consecration to the Sacred Heart. The Blessed Sacrament was then carried in procession, the beautiful new banner of the Sacred Heart being used for the first time. Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament was given by Father Merg, assisted by Father Tierney and Father Gailliard. The musical arrangements were in excellent taste, and were in the capable hands of Miss Emily Finn, lady-organist of the church. Before leaving the Church, nearly the whole congregation were enrolled in ,the newly-established Arch-confraternity of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart.

The ceremonies of the day were beautiful and devo­tional in the extreme, and, no doubt, tended to foster devotion to the Sacred Heart, and to Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, amongst the people of Randwick.

It may be here mentioned that the tasteful altar dec­orations were the work of the recently-formed Altar So­ciety, of which Mrs. Robertson was appointed President, her assistants and first workers being the Misses Scanlan, Finn, and Roarty, Mrs. Higgins, Mrs. Riley and a little later Mrs. Oxenham, Miss McCarthy, Miss M. Hogan and Miss Maud Olliffe.

 

FIRST PUBLICATION OF THE ANNALS.

The first copies of the Annals of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart were published in December, 1889, and distributed at the church door. Their publication was brought about by the united efforts of Dr. M. O'Connor, Mr. M. O'Rourke, Miss M. A. Finn and Father Merg.

On the first page of that modest little number, pub­lished now forty-six years ago, when about two thous­and copies were issued, we read: "We publish to-day, under the auspices of Mary Immaculate, the first num­ber of the Australian Annals of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart (the monthly organ of the Archconfraternity). That She may bless and foster our humble efforts to win this fair land to a greater love of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, through devotion to Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, is our fondest wish and most constant prayer." At the close of the first year there were 6,000 subscribers.

That the "Annals" have not failed in their mission may be amply verified from the fact that their circula­tion has now increased to many thousands, and every month Our Lady's Messenger is eagerly looked for, and read with interest throughout the Commonwealth and far beyond its boundaries.

 

ARRIVAL OF BISHOP VERIUS.

His Grace Archbishop Navarre visited Randwick again in January, 1890, accompanied by His Lordship Dr. Verius, who had been consecrated Bishop by His Grace at Yule Island, New Guinea, amongst the savage people for whose conversion he had devoted his life. Dr. Verius, who was one of the pioneer Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, was only twenty-nine years of age at the time of his consecration, being then the youngest Bishop in the world.

During his stay in Randwick, Bishop Verius officiated at Pontifical High Mass, at which His Grace Dr. Navarre presided. On the sanctuary were Dr. Barry, O.S.B., Father Gaynor, O.F.M., Father Merg, M.S.C., Father Tierney, M.S.C.

Father Fitzgerald, O.F.M., delivered a most eloquent discourse on the Missionary labours of the two prelates, giving a graphic description of their many trials, their untiring zeal, their courage in facing the un­known, and the marvellous work they had already accomplished, concluding with a powerful appeal for monetary assistance from a generous people to aid the prelates in their difficult Mission of bringing the light of Faith to those distant islands of the Pacific.

During the stay of the two distinguished prelates, they were present at an entertainment given in their honour by the children, who presented His Lordship, Dr. Verius, with a beautiful cope for use in his far-off Mission. He expressed himself delighted with the children's performance, but a glance at the length of the programme to-day is a convincing proof that the Bishop must have been gifted with untiring patience.

His Grace Dr. Navarre, being in indifferent health, remained for a time as the guest of the Sacred Heart Fathers, but all too soon we had to say "good-bye" to Bishop Verius, as he was anxious to return to New Guinea, but it was not without deep regret on the part of those he was leaving, for his winning personality had endeared him to all those with whom he came in con­tact.

Just before His Lordship left, news had been received from Rome that our first Superior, Father Couppe, had been appointed Vicar Apostolic of New Britain, and Bishop Verius Co-adjutor to His Grace Dr. Navarre, Vicar Apostolic of New Guinea.

 

FIRST MISSION IN THE NEW CHURCH.

In May of this year, 1890, the first Mission was given in the Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart by the Rev. Father Hilary and the Rev. Father Patrick, of the Passionist Order. From the very outset the Mission was a marvellous success, the eloquent Mission­aries attracting crowds that entirely filled the Church, including many non-Catholics. The exercises of the Mission lasted a fortnight, and closed with a solemn renewal of the Baptismal Vows and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament.

 

THE FIRST STAINED-GLASS WINDOWS.

Some of the stained-glass windows which had been ordered from France, were placed in position early in December, and they enhanced in no small degree the devotional appearance of the church. Very appropriately they were designed to represent the life of Our Blessed Lady, and are beautiful examples of religious art. It was not long before the example of the gener­ous donors inspired others to complete the series, thus adding to the "beauty of the house" of God.

 

ARRIVAL OF FATHER TREAND, M.S.C.

The arrival early in December, 1890, of the Very Rev. Father Treand, M.S.C., who had been appointed Superior of the Mission, created much interest, for he was not destined for the Island Missions like so many who had come and gone, but was to reside in Randwick. For many years he devoted himself, heart and soul, to the spiritual welfare of his people and to the wide inter­ests of the Society of the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart in Australia.

 

RANDWICK'S FIRST BAZAAR.

About this time, the first great effort to reduce the Church Debt was made by the congregation. The "Federation Bazaar" was opened in the Randwick Town Hall by His Eminence Cardinal Moran, who was re­ceived by a "Guard of Honour" composed of cadets from various Catholic schools. St. Mary's Cathedral School Band was in attendance. It may be interesting to mention the names of some who attended the opening ceremony:—The Hon. D. O'Connor, Dr. John Donovan, Mr. John Walsh, Mr. Valentine Heaton, Mr. P. Larkin, Mr. E. Finn, Mr. A. B. Riley, Mr. T. Payten, Mr. C. J. Burfitt, Mr. W. P. Crick, Mr. P. Hogan, Mr. Aston Watkins.

His Eminence, in a short speech, complimented the promoters of the Bazaar on the happy choice of the title, and expressed the hope that the real federation of the colonies would be brought about by the same pleas­ant means, and would be marked by the same amity and good feeling.

The clerical visitors, during the afternoon, were Very Rev. Dr. O'Haran, who accompanied {he Cardinal, Very Rev. P. Keating, S.J., Rev. Father Joyce, O.F.M., Rev. Father Gaynor, O.F.M., Very Rev. Dr. Barry, O.S.B., Rev. M. C. Kickham, also Very Rev. Father Treand, M.S.C., Father Tierney, M.S.C., and Father Merg, M.S.C.

The following are the names of the stall-holders:—

New South Wales: Mrs. Foley, Mrs. Riley, Misses Scanlon, Byrne, M. Hogan and Jesse.

Victoria: Mrs. H. Oxenham, Mrs. V. Heaton, Misses Wakfer, Woolfe, Thornley, Mannix, Benjamin, Barnett and Blair.

Queensland: Mrs. John Walsh, Mrs. Aston Watkins, Miss Moore, Misses M. and N. Walsh.

South and West Australia: Mrs. Ellis, Misses Cos-grove, Allingham, Payten, and Cameron.

New Zealand: Mrs. Finn, Misses Kidgell, Browne and Finn (4).

.....Tasmania: Mrs. P. R. Larkin, Mrs. W. P. Crick, Misses MacCauley, Crick and Day. The Bazaar realised £1,100.

 

.....SECOND VISIT OF BISHOP VERIUS.

......More than a year previously, His Lordship Bishop Verius had returned to his beloved New Guinea Mis­sion, and now, in the month of May, 1892, he made a short stay in Randwick, when on his way to Europe. He semed very ill and wornn-out with his labours, but it was fondly hoped that the sea-trip would be beneficial to him. The saintly Bishop, as usual, did not spare himself while in our midst, for he had much to do in the interests of his Mission. Every morning he cele­brated an early Mass in the Church, when many of the congregation considered themselves privileged, indeed, to be present. To one in particular, this fort-night or more is fraught with the holiest memories, for Mr. Leo Finn considered then—and still considers—that to have been chosen to vest the venerated Bishop, and to serve his Mass, was one of the privileges of his life. It seems fitting to append the details of the loved prelate's last stay in our midst, in view of the fact that the Cause of his Beatification is under consideration by the Sacred Congregation. The "Freeman's Journal" of May 25th says: "By the S.S. Oceanica Bishop Verius, M.S.C., the pioneer worker in the New Guinea Mission, left Sydney for France, accompanied by the Rev. Father Merg, M.S.C. Bishop Verius began his work in New Guinea as a Missionary seven years ago, and in 1889 he was raised to episcopal rank as Archbishop Navarre's Coadjutor. He was the first Missionary to lead the way in the geographical discoveries, which are now known and officially acknowledged throughout the world. He discovered and named St. Joseph's River, and the village of Port Leo (named after His Holiness Leo XIII) owes its existence to his courage and enterprise. It is only when he comes into the centres of civilization that Bishop Verius wears the episcopal dress. In New Guinea he dons the rough garb of the working Missionary, and helps the Lay Brothers in all manner of labour, such as cutting down timber, building huts and little chapels, constructing rafts and tilling the ground. His youth and strength particularly fit him for the work to which he has dedicated his life.

He was consecrated in his twenty-ninth year, and is probably one of the youngest Bishops in the whole Church. At the age of thirty-two he goes to re-visit his old "Alma Mater" in France, and to lay his report before the Holy Father in Rome. It is his intention to return about Christmas. When in Sydney, Dr. Verius had several most friendly interviews with the Car­dinal Archbishop, who has, from the first, manifested a deep solicitude in the New Guinea Missionaries and their heroic labours.

On reaching Melbourne on his way to France, Dr. Verius, was entertained by Archbishop Carr, who, we learn, gave a practical proof of his sympathetic interest in the work of the Missions."

When receiving a parting blessing from Dr. Verius, and wishing him "God-speed," and a quick return to the scene of his labours, the harrowing thought "that we should see his face no more," was far from the minds of all his friends. But, in God's inscrutable decrees, such was to be the case, for, on November 14th, the Fathers at Randwick, to their intense sorrow, received a cable announcing that the promising young life of the valiant and saintly Bishop had been brought to a close.

Over forty priests assisted at the Dirge and Requiem for the repose of the soul of Dr. Verius a few days later. The Cardinal-Archbishop presided and the Mass was celebrated by the Very Rev. Father Treand, M.S.C., assisted by the Very Rev. Father Hurlin, S.M., and Father Piquet, S.M. The Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, Randwick, was filled to over-flowing by a sympathetic congregation. The Society of Mission­aries of the Sacred Heart, to which the deceased prelate belonged, in addition to the celebrant, was represented  by Father M. Tierney, M.S.C., Father JVlerg, M.S.C., and Father Toublanc, M.S.C.

The Very Rev. Dr. O'Brien, Rector of St. John's College, and the Very Rev. Z. Muraire, S.M., were the cantors, and the clerical choir included the Venerable Arch-priest Sheehy, the Very Rev. Dr. Carroll, V.G., and the Very Rev. Dr. O'Haran (who was a fellow-stu­dent with the deceased prelate in Rome), the Very Rev. P. Le Rennetel, S.M., Very Rev. P. Slattery, OJF.M., Superior of the Franciscans, Very Rev. A. Boyle, C.M., Superior of the Vincentians, and the Very Rev. Father Marcellus, C.P.

The venerated Bishop passed to his reward on November 13th, feast of his angelic patron, St. Stanislaus. He breathed his last in the rectory of the parish of Oleg-gio (Italy), where he was born.

When the Cardinal-Archbishop of Sydney received the news of the death of the brave and holy prelate, he said to the bearer of the message: "No words can express the esteem I had for him. He was a truly apostolic man, with no thought of self."

 

LORETO NUNS COME TO RANDWICK.

In 1892 a community of Loreto Nuns from Mary's Mount, Ballarat, arrived in Randwick to open a Superior Boarding and Day School. Mother M. Dorothea Frizell, who died very recently at Normanhurst, was Superioress of the little band. Their first home was at "Selbourne," Alison Road, but as the house was quite unfitted for educational purposes, being too far away, Aston Hall, formerly the residence of Mr. Aston Watkins, and now the Novitiate of the Little Sisters, was secured. His Eminence the Cardinal, assisted by the Right Rev. Dr. Higgins, performed the ceremony of blessing the Convent and schools, in the presence of a large concourse of lay and clerical friends. His Eminence expressed the hope that this, the latest shoot of a noble trunk, would be true to the traditions of a glorious past and would, in a short time, be found emulating Ballarat and Rathfarnham, both in the number of its pupils and in the success which would crown their scholastic career.

 

ARRIVAL OF NEW MISSIONARIES.

During this year, 1892, many Missionaries arrived from Europe, also Sisters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart bound for the distant Mission Fields. Father Merg who had accompanied the lamented Bishop Verius to Rome returned, bringing with him Father George Donze to assist in the parish work, and Brother William. Father Gailliard, who had been here for some time assisting mostly at Botany, departed for the Gilbert Islands, and Father Bontemps returned from the same distant Mission, bringing with him two native boys.

About the same time Fathers Roussel, Karlsleers and Heifer, with three Lay Brothers, passed through Sydney "en route" for various Island Miss­ions j and Father Toublanc, whom we had begun to look upon as one of "Randwick's own," also set out again for New Guinea. Thus it was that the people of Randwick from the very outset were deeply interested in the work of the Missions, for they learned from the lips of the visiting Fathers something of the stupend­ous work of the valiant Missionaries, whose sole aim was "to make the Light of the Gospel shine among the infidels."

And dwelling on the coming and going of Missionary priests, Brothers and Nuns, reminds us that at the close of this year, 1892, Miss Ada Roarty, the first Randwick postulant to enter the Congregation of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart at Botany, made her solemn Profession. Many of her Randwick friends were pre­sent, for she was one of the pioneer members of the Children of Mary Sodality. His Grace Archbishop Navarre received her vows. All the Fathers of the Sacred Heart were present, and the sermon was preached by the Very Rev. Father Kennedy, O.F.M. Shortly afterwards, Sister Mary Lucy left for Thursday Island and spent over thirty years in the work of the Missions.

In the meantime Dr. Gennochi, M.S.C. arrived, accompanied by four Scholastics and three Lay Brothers, also by Father Claude Allera, M.S.C., whose privilege it had been to be present at the death-bed of His Lordship Dr. Verius. The whole band proceeded to New Guinea, but Father Allera only lived a few weeks after his arrival in the land, where he had hoped to follow in the footsteps of the saintly pioneer Bishop through the villages and lonely forests, which had been the scenes of his arduous journeyings. Dr. Gennochi remained for some time in New Guinea, and the "Annals" of those days contain many interesting accounts of his work amongst the savages.

About this time Father Bontemps, who had made many journeys to and fro in the interests of his Mission, left for France accompanied by the three little Gilbertine native boys, who whilst here served daily Mass with the greatest precision and devotion.

Father Toublanc, whose one great desire was to per­severe with his Mission work in New Guinea, was again incapacitated through ill-health and obliged to return to Randwick under the care of Father Hartzer.

 

ERECTION OF A PRIMARY GIRLS' SCHOOL.

In June of this year, 1892, the Loreto Nuns assumed control of the Primary Girls' School, a wooden building having been erected in the grounds of Aston Hall foj that purpose. The school was blessed and opened by the Cardinal-Archbishop, who was accompanied by Archbishop Redwood, Bishop Grimes (New Zealand) and Bishop Higgins. The old school-church was now free to be used as a Boys' School, and was confided to the care of Mr. C. S. Walpole and subsequently to the care of Mr. Lynch.

 

MORE MISSIONARIES ARRIVE.

It is not an easy task to chronicle the arrival and departure of the various Missionaries, all intent on the work of their different Mission fields "white for the harvest." But it would scarcely be a sketch of the early history of the church in Randwick, if this were omitted, for each group of Missionaries spent some time— long or short—in our midst, celebrating Mass in the church, and making friends with the people of the parish. Three Fathers arrived in September, 1894: Father Henry Chetail, who was destined for the Randwick Mission, Father Gressin, Father Richard Van de Wover, and two Brothers for the Gilbert Islands.

At the time of their arrival the new steamer, "Maris Stella," which had been purchased for work in the Gilbert Islands, was already in port and left for its desti­nation a couple of weeks later with the Fathers and Brothers on board.

The Right Rev. Dr. Couppe, Vicar-Apostolic of New Britain and adjacent islands, arrived from New Britain just before Christmas. This was his first return visit since his consecration as Bishop. Dr. Couppe gave a most satisfactory account of the progress of the Mission in New Britain, where there were twenty-seven Missionaries, Fathers, Brothers, and Sisters engaged in the work.

 

VISIT OF AN OPERATIC COMPANY.

It was not long before the Randwick Church was notable for good and devotional music, and seldom a Sunday passed without the local choir being reinforced by singers of repute. A special treat was accorded the congregation in June of this year, 1894, when twenty members of a celebrated Opera Company—a choir of male voices—visited Randwick Church by special invit­ation to sing "Mercadante's Mass." Mrs. R. A. D'Arcy, who presided as usual at the organ, won excep­tional praise from the visitors for her tasteful playing. The Company remained for Vespers and Benediction, and before leaving received the grateful thanks of Father Tierney and Father Donze for the artistic treat the people had been privileged to enjoy.

 

BLESSING OF NEW HIGH ALTAR.

 

On Sunday, July 28th, the magnificent new marble altar, which had been presented to the Church by Mrs. Farrell, was blessed by His Eminence Cardinal Moran. Father Treand, M.S.C., was the celebrant of the High Mass, Father Patrick C.P. Deacon and Father Donze, M.S.C., Sub-deacon. At the throne the Cardinal was attended by Father P. J. Doran (Sofala) and Father Long (Gulgong). The Very Rev. Dr. O'Haran con­ducted the ceremonies assisted by Father M. Tierney, M.S.C. The Very Rev. Father Le Rennetel, S.M., was the, preacher. The ordinary choir was assisted by Mrs. W. MacDonald, Miss Cohen, Miss Cannon, Mr. W. Ryan and Mr. Fred Leston. At the Offertory Mrs. W. MacDonald sang brilliantly an "Ave Maria" composed especially for the occasion by Mrs. R. A. D'Arcy, organist. Mr. Edwin Finn conducted.

Father Le Rennetel preached a very impressive ser­mon based on the words. "We have an altar," dwelling especially on the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass—the Mass instituted by the Redeemer, the Mass which their devoted priests would celebrate on that altar, not only in their own time, and in the days of their children, but for many generations

The altar was specially designed by Messrs. Sheerin and Hennessy of Sydney, and was carved in Italy. It is constructed of the best Sicilian marble in late 13th century Gothic style, in accordance with the design of the church. The tabernacle is a wrought-iron safe with brass repousse double doors set with crystals. This is fitted into a marble tabernacle.

Along the base of the altar is the following inscription: "D.O.M., and in memory of Alfred and Thomas Farrell, this altar was erected by their sorrowing mother Esmey Farrell, July 1895." The altar was consecrated later by Bishop Higgins.

 

     MISSION BY THE REDEMPTORISTS

Before the close of this year, a fortnight's Mission was given by Father Mangan and Father Plunkett of the Redemptorist Order, which was brought to a most suc­cessful close in October, when a very large congregation assembled at the final instruction and for the renewal of the Baptismal Vows. His Eminence the Cardinal, visited Randwick during the Mission and administered the Sacrament of Confirmation to eighty candidates.

 

SITE SECURED FOR MONASTERY KENSINGTON

For some time the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart had been considering the advisability of erecting a Monastery for the education and training of young Aus­tralians, desirous of becoming Missionaries of the Sac­red Heart, that they might devote their lives to the conversion of the savage people of the scattered Pacific Islands.

The Fathers had already received many applicants for admission to the Society, but owing to the lack of accommodation at Randwick, their requests had, for the time being, to be laid aside.

A splendid site had, however, been secured on one of the most elevated positions of the Kensington estate, commanding magnificent views of the city, Randwick, Botany, and out-lying suburbs. During the last visit to Randwick of his Lordship Dr. Verius, the lamented Bishop blessed the site of the future Monastery, and surely under God's blessing the benediction given that memorable day by the heroic young Missionary, his heart all aflame with love for his people in distant New Guinea, has borne abundant fruit in priestly vocations.

 

.....BLESSING OF FOUNDATION STONE

The foundation stone of the Monastery was laid by His Eminence Cardinal Moran on December 1st, 1895, at the close of the Plenary Synod, so that the Archbishops, Bishops and Fathers, attending the Plenary Council might be present. The Cardinal presided and seated on the platform with him were Dr. Carr, Archbishop of Melbourne, Dr. Higgins, Auxiliary Bishop of Sydney, Dr. Murray, Bishop of Maitland, Dr. Lan-igan, Bishop of Goulburn, Dr. Byrne, Bishop of Bathurst, Dr. Corbett, Bishop of Sale, Dr. Dunn, Bishop of Wilcannia, Dr. Gallagher, Co-adjutor Bishop of Goul­burn.

Amongst others present were the Very Rev. Father Treand, M.S.C., Very Rev. Father Plunkett, C.S.S.R., Very Rev. A. Aubrey, S.M., Very Rev. Father Kenny, S.J., Very Rev. Dr. Hand, V.G. (West Maitland), Very Rev. C. Nulty, S.J., Very Rev. Dr. O'Haran, Rev. Father Tierney, M.S.C., Rev. Father Merg, M.S.C., Rev., Father Donze, M.S.C., Rev. Father Vandel, M.S.C., Rev. Father Gailliard, M.S.C., Rev. Father Henry Chetail, M.S.C., Hon. D. O'Connor, M.L.C., Hon. C. G. Heydon, M.L.C., Dr. John Donovan, K.C.S.G., Dr. Beattie, Mr. E. W. O'Sullivan, M.P.; Mr. J. B. Kelly, M.P.j Mr. L. J. Dew, Mr. J. F. Finn; Mr. V. Heaton; Mr. P. R. Larkin; Mr. E. Finn; Mr. W. J. Lupton; Mr. J. McSherry, Mr. A. D. Finn; Mr. B. Foley and others.

His Eminence, the Cardinal in an eloquent discourse referred to the Synod, and said, "as might be naturally expected, their thoughts had been bent on the building-up of new bulwarks of Holy Church in this land. In a special way the thoughts of the assembled Bishops had been directed to the nations and the peoples around us, not yet blessed by the light of Divine Faith. This was why it gave him great pleasure to come to that beautiful suburb to lay the foundation stone of an edifice which was destined to be in the near future a great centre of Missionary enterprise."

 

DECORATION OF THE SANCTUARY OF THE CHURCH

In January 1896, Father Merg who had returned from a long visit to the Island Missions undertook the work of decorating the sanctuary of the Church, which had remained in an unfinished state since the erection of the new marble altar. The work was made possible through the generosity of Mr. and Mrs. Valentine Heaton. The central "motif" of the design was an almost life-size painting of the Sacred Heart with a back-ground of golden rays, so executed as to give the impression of being supported by a pedestal. On either side was an adoring angel in a kneeling posture, one holding a crown of thorns and the other a chalice. The inscription on the frieze at the wall-head was "Adoremus in Aeternum Sanctissimum Sacramentum." The side-walls were treated with a boldly-designed dado and scroll frieze, with quatre-foil diapers on a light terra-cotta background.

The Chancel-arch was decorated in a blue-grey stone, with the mouldings picked out in appropriate colours with the inscription in letters of gold "Domine dilexi decorem domus Tuae et locum habitationis gloriae Tuae."

This year 1896 brought about some changes in the parish. Through the unexpected death of Mrs. R. A. D'Arcy the work of the choir to which she had devoted herself whole-heartedly for twelve years, passed into the hands of Mr. and Mrs. George Brewer, who continued to carry out the duties of conductor and organist, respectively, for many years.

 

FATHER TREAND'S DEPARTURE FOR EUROPE

Father Tierney who had long desired to obtain a glimpse of the work in. the Island Missions, left for Thursday Island with the intention of remaining away for some months. He had only been there two months, when he was recalled, as a cable had arrived which neces­sitated Father Treand's immediate departure for Europe in July.

A meeting was at once called to make arrangements for a presentation to Father Treand, and a purse of sovereigns was decided upon. On the evening of the presentation—July 1, the Randwick Town Hall was crowded to overflowing.

Dr. Donovan presided, and on the platform surrounding Father Treand were Very Rev. Dr. Gennochi, M.S.C.; Very Rev. Father Kennedy, O.F.M.; Rev. Father Piquet, S.M.; Father Tierney, M.S.C.; Father Merg, M.S.C.; Father Henry Chetail, M.S.C.; Dr. Lynch, M.S.C.; Dr. Vandel, M.S.C.; Father Donze, M.S.C.

A purse of sovereigns and an illuminated address were presented to Father Treand on behalf of the laity, the address being signed by John Donovan, K.C.S.G.; Valentine Heaton, Thomas Payten, L. J. Dew.

On behalf of the Children of Mary an address in book-form and a pair of silver altar cruets were presented by the President, M. A. Finn. An address was also presented by the St. Vincent de Paul Society and signed on behalf of the Conference by L. J. Dew, T. Payten, L. Moore, C. O'Sullivan, J. F. Ross.

Father Treand in reply said that he was deeply moved and more than thankful for their kindness. His heart was touched by a joy that words failed to express, at this proof of the love and esteem of his faithful people. He dared not say that he deserved all this— it would be presumptuous in him to say so—but the evidence of their affection had been forced upon him.     He could not however, say that he was surprised. Ever since he had come amongst them, he had experienced nothing but kindness, affection and generosity. His stay among them had not been of many years. They spoke of the good he had done, but it was not difficult to do good in a parish like Randwick, where there were so many men of mark, men held in the highest esteem in the various callings of life, but greater still in their humble profession of Christian faith and the conformity of their lives to the Faith professed by them. To work among such people was a reward in itself. He must remember too, that others had laboured with him. He must share all with his brother priests. He had reaped the harvest they had sown, and he (must share with them the praise. He grayed to God that the years that remained to him for work, might be spent amongst them. If it were not the Will of God that he should return, neither distance nor time would efface from his memory the affection and the deep and heart­felt goodness of the people of Randwick.

Father Treand concluded by proposing a vote of thanks to Dr. Donovan which was seconded by Father Tierney.

Two days later Father Treand left for France, when a large crowd of clerical and lay friends assembled to wish him "Bon voyage."

 

GARDEN FETE AT "NORMANHURST"

The parishioners had now to consider again the reduction of the Church Debt, and a meeting was held for this purpose at the Presbytery, Father Tierney presiding.

It was decided to hold a "Garden Fete" in the grounds of "Normanhurst," kindly lent by Mrs. H. Oxenham. The stall-holders were Mesdames Oxen-ham, Rose, Heaton, Kelly, Finn, Watkins, with many assistants.    It proved very successful, realising over £200.

 

ST. MARY'S FAIR.

During the month of April, 1897, the topic of interest in every parish was the Cardinal's Great Australian Fair, and the absorbing thought of the stall-holders how to make it the success his Eminence desired it to be. The Randwick parish was not behind-hand, and the decorations of the stall on the opening day were very much admired. When the results of the Fair were made known, the Randwick Stall was third on the list with £550 to its credit.

 

WELCOME HOME TO FATHER TREAND

In October of this year (1897), Father Treand returned to Randwick after being absent over a year, and the parishioners organised for him a most enthusiastic "Welcome Home." Father Treand brought with him frorr* Europe a band of more than twenty Missionaries to labour in the Mission Fields of New Guinea. They included five Priests and six Brothers, also a number of Sisters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart for New Guinea and the Gilbert Islands. Father D. Buck-ley also accompanied Father Treand and was attached to the Randwick Parish.

A social evening organised by the Children of Mary was held in the Randwick Town Hall.

The tea tables were crowded and every family in the parish was represented. Father Treand was the "guest of honour" at the "Children of Mary's" table which was most charmingly decorated for the occasion. Seated with Father Treand were his Grace, Archbishop Navarre; Very Rev. Father Le Rennetel, S.M.; Father Gurrin, O.P. (a visitor from England), Father Kennedy O.F.M., Father Fitzgerald, O.F.M.; Father Joyce, O.F.M.; Father Gaynor, O.F.M.; Father Merg, M.S.C.; Father Tierney, M.S.C.; Father Henry Chetail, M.S.C.; Father Buckley, M.S.C., Dr. Lynch, M.S.C.} Dr. Vandel, M.S.C.; Dr. Gsell, M.S.C.; Father Quorrier, M.S.C.; Father Dowling, Manly College, Father O'Driscoll, with many other visitors. When the tables were speedily cleared away by many willing hands, songs and dancing filled in the remaining hours which passed all too quickly.

 

PRESENTATION TO FATHER TIERNEY

A few days later Father Tierney went to Melbourne to be present at the consecration of St. Patrick's Cath­edral. Before his departure the Children of Mary took the opportunity of presenting him with a gold cross and watchchain, in recognition of his many kindnesses to them while acting as Director of the Sodality, during Father Treand's absence.

 

BLESSING OF THE MONASTERY, KENSINGTON

On Sunday, December 5, 1897, His Eminence Cardinal Moran solemnly blessed the new Monastery and Training College of the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, Kensington, which has been described as "a noble building on a splendid site." The Cardinal arrived at the College before three o'clock and allowed himself half-an-hour to go over the building and examine all the details. At half-past three a procession was formed, which included the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, the Missionary Brothers, the members of the A.H.C. Guild, the Hibernian Society, and the Sodality of the Sacred Heart under Mr. P. F. Martin. Seven students and novices also walked in the procession. After the blessing a meeting was held in the open air, a temporary platform near the college entrance being used. The general assemblage numbered about 700 people besides a large number of clergy from city and suburban parishes, and members, of religious Orders.

A most inspiring address was delivered by the Cardinal, who said that "the opening of the Missionary College was an event which many in distant lands would hail with blessing and rejoicing. It was a special event for the Fathers of the Sacred Heart, who by their holy Profession were a Missionary Community. They had erected this noble building as a centre from which many Missionaries would go forth to work in distant lands, to bring to those who knew not God the blessings of Christian enlightenment and piety."

Other speakers on Missionary enterprise included Mr. T. M. Slattery and Mr. L. J. Dew. The Mayor of Randwick, Mr. J. A. I. Perry proposed a vote of thanks to his Eminence the Cardinal which was sec­onded by Mr. P. Hogan.

 

DEATH OF FATHER BONTEMPS, M.S.C.

In March, 1898, news was received of the death of the Very Rev. Father Bontemps, M.S.C., who was well known to the people of Randwick, where he had often sojourned during his journeyings in the interests of his distant, scattered Mission in the Gilbert Islands, of which he was the founder and first apostle.

 

DEPARTURE   OF  FATHER   TIERNEY  FOR IRELAND

In April, 1898, the news had spread abroad that Father Tierney, our first Missionary and parish priest, was going to Ireland for twelve months' holiday. It was not welcome news, by any means, for Father Tierney had endeared himself to his people with whom he always kept in touch, and never spared himself when the question of their welfare, either spiritual or temporal, was in question. Father Tierney's own idea was, as he expressed it, "to slip away quietly," but his people would not listen to that suggestion. A "picnic" was given to him by the clergy in the grounds of the Sir Joseph Banks Hotel, Botany, at which a large number of city and suburban priests were present.

The members of the Randwick Football Club of which Father Tierney had been president for some years entertained him at the Town Hall, and presented him with a fitted travelling bag. The presentation was made by Mr. Theo. Richards, Captain, and complimentary speeches were made by Messrs. Arthur Kidman, Bob Kiss, Hubert Finn, and others.

On the eve of his departure, Father Tierney was presented with a cheque in the Randwick Town Hall, and although the weather was extremely cold and bois­terous, the Hall was filled to overflowing. Mr. P. R. Larkin occupied the chair. All the Randwick Fathers were present as well as the Franciscan Fathers from Waverley; also Father Jeremiah Tierney and many other priests. Many non-Catholics were amongst the audience including the Hon. John See, Mr. David Storey, Mr. Houston, Mayor of Randwick, and Mr. Coulter. On the following Sunday Father Tierney said "Good-bye" to the people to whom he had ministered for fourteen years, and who parted from him with deepest regret. The following day, May 16, he left for the "old country." A great number of people went down to the wharf to bid him "Bon voyage" and "Au Revoir," but Father Tierney was not destined to return to Randwick. Father Le Rennetel, S.M., and Father Cummings, S.M., sailed by the same streamer.

 

PRIMARY SCHOOL HANDED OVER TO KENSINGTON SISTERS

Another change was made about this time with regard to the Primary School for Girls. For four years it had been conducted by the Loreto Nuns at Aston Hall, but they relinquished the charge in August of this year 1898, and the children returned to the old school which was reopened by the Sisters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, Kensington. The question now was: "What shall we do with our boys?", but this question was not satisfactorily answered until the coming of the Marist Brothers in 1922. In the meantime it was found necessary to provide more accommodation for the girls and not many months elapsed before His Eminence Cardinal Moran again visited the parish in order to bless a new wooden school-room, which had been erected in the church grounds.

 

MISSION BY THE VINCENTIANS

The remainder of this year was well filled with a Mission given by Father McCarthy and Father Boyle of the Vincentian Order, which lasted a fortnight and was most fruitful in results, and when the Mission was closed, preparations were made by a strong committee of ladies to organise a bazaar on a large scale in order to assist in the reduction of the Church Debt. His Eminence very kindly again visited Randwick and opened the Bazaar on December 3rd.

The results were very satisfactory—about £800 being netted by the efforts of the ladies.

 

MISSIONARY NEWS

The beginning of the year 1899 was full of interest­ing Missionary news. Dr. Leray, M.S.C., who succeeded Father Bontemps as Superior of the Gilbert Island Missions was appointed Bishop and went to France to be consecrated. He returned to Sydney bringing with him a band of young Missionaries and seven Sisters of our Lady of the Sacred Heart. Our old friend Father Toublanc who who had gone to France to recuperate after his long illness, returned with the Bishop and resumed Mission Work in the Gilbert Islands.

Dr. Couppe, Vicar Apostolic of New Britain also passed through Sydney on his way to the Marshall Islands, where he intended to establish a new Mission station.

At the Sacred Heart Monastery, Kensington, five novices—the first fruits of the New Missionary College, had made their Solemn Profession on Christmas Day. His Eminence the Cardinal presided and others present were: The Right Rev. Dr. Moore Bishop of Ballarat, the Right Rev. Dr. Leray, M.S.C., and the Fathers of the Sacred Heart, Randwick and Kensington.

 

PRINCELY GIFT OF MR. & MRS. S. FIELDER

The record must be made here of two beautiful gifts made at this time to the Church, by Mr. and Mrs. S. Fielder, one a magnificent Mission Cross, the other an exquisite "Pieta" a devotional group of Our Lady of Sorrows receiving the Body of Our Divine Lord in her arms. The ceremony of blessing both was per­formed by Father Treand at evening devotions, and an eloquent sermon appropriate to the occasion was preached by Father Michael Flemming of the Cathedral Staff.

 

CONSECRATION TO THE SACRED HEART

In accordance with the wishes of the Holy Father that the whole world should be consecrated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus, the ceremonies of Consecration were carried out with great solemnity in the Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart. At the early Masses the church was crowded, and the number of communicants exceptionally large. At the evening devotions the Rev. Father Clement, C.P. preached on "Devotion to the Sacred Heart."

 

NEW CO-ADJUTOR BISHOP FOR PAPUA

About this time news was received by the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, that the Rev. Alain de Boismenu, M.S.C., had recently been appointed Co-adjutor to his Grace, Dr. Navarre. About two years previously the Bishop-elect had gone to labour in the vast Mission fields of New Guinea.

 

BLESSING OF ST. ANTHONY'S STATUE

The church was still being enriched by beautiful gifts, the latest being a large statue of St. Anthony, which was blessed at evening devotions by the Very Rev. Father Kennedy, O.F.M., who also delivered an instructive sermon, explaining the devotion of St. Anthony's bread, showing how the Saint, while showering temporal and spiritual favours upon his clients, has made himself particularly the purveyor of the poor

 

VISIT OF THE CARDINAL TO THE LITTLE SISTERS

The next visit of his Eminence the Cardinal to Randwick was to bless and open the new "Home for the Aged Poor" conducted by the Little Sisters of the Poor. The first home of the Little Sisters in Randwick was a small house in a terrace of two, which is still standing in Avoca Street. The first house erected on their own ground, was a roomy wooden building which gradually gave place to the splendid edifice of the present time.

Many friends of the institution assembled to give the Sisters a helping hand in the great cause of charity. The Cardinal made a powerful appeal, and the Hon. John See who was present also paid a splendid tribute to the zeal and charity of the Sisters of the Poor, in whose work he took the deepest interest.

A few months previously his Eminence had visited the Sisters accompanied by Dr. Murray, Bishop of Mait-land, who blessed the bells for the new chapel of the Home.

 

FIRST AUSTRALIAN PRIEST

On the Feast of the Sacred Heart this year, the Rev. Father Shaw, M.S.C., the first Australian raised to the dignity of priesthood in the Society of the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, sang his first Solemn High Mass assisted by Father Derichement, M.S.C., as deacon, and Father Coltee, M.S.C., as subdeacon. In the evening Father Shaw preached on the "Love of God," to a

crowded congregation, and after a Solemn Procession of the Blessed Sacrament, which had been exposed throughout the day for the adoration of the faithful, Father Shaw officiated at Benediction which brought the day's proceedings to a close.

 

.....MIDNIGHT MASS AT ST. MARY'S

The year 1901—the beginning of the new century— was ushered in by Solemn Midnight Mass at St. Mary's Cathedral at which his Eminence the Cardinal Offici­ated. Randwick parish was not behind-hand in assist­ing at this magnificent demonstration of Catholic Faith; a special tram being chartered to convey the people to their homes at the close of the ceremonies. The Mid­night Mass, which was celebrated under instructions from His Holiness the Pope, synchronised with the inauguration of the Commonwealth of Australia.

 

BLESSING OF THE NOVITIATE OF THE LITTLE SISTERS

Towards the close of the year His Eminence blessed and opened the Novitiate just acquired by the Little Sisters of the Poor, formerly "Aston Hall," and until recently occupied by the Loreto Nuns, and which is in close proximity to the Home for the Aged Poor. The Loreto Nuns, on vacating "Aston Hall" made their temporary home in "Walsh's Terrace." As the Nuns found it impossible to acquire a house large enough for school purposes, or property on which to build, they decided to make a new foundation at Kirribilli, North Sydney. For nine years the Nuns had devoted them­selves to the work of higher education in Randwick, and their departure was deeply regretted. They have now at Kirribilli a magnificent convent and beautiful chapel which is dedicated to Our Lady of the Sacred Heart.

In answer to the question put to a Loreto Nun at Kirribilli, "Why was the chapel dedicated to Our Lady of the Sacred Heart?" a charming little story was related: "When the Nuns left Randwick, Father Treand told them on the morning they were leaving, how keenly he regretted that force of circumstances had compelled them to abandon their first foundation in New South Wales, and begin their labours anew. When they arrived at their new temporary home at Kirribilli they found awaiting them on the verandah a statue of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart which Father Treand had sent by a messenger who did not await the coming of the Nuns. That Our Lady should have been there to welcome them, they looked upon as a sure promise of success in their new foundation. "From that day," said the narrator, "we never looked back, and we decided that our new chapel should be placed under the patronage of 'Our Lady of the Sacred Heart.' "

And now the fair statue of Our Lady under that con­soling title dominates from the chapel tower the charm­ing surroundings of Loreto Convent, Kirribilli, while the first little statue finds an honoured place within the Convent walls.

 

ARRIVAL OF THE BRIGIDINE NUNS

On September 21, 1901, the Brigidine Nuns under the guidance cf Rev. Mother M. Alacoque arrived in Randwick to replace the Loreto Nuns who had just left, and occupied a house—"Strathmore"—in Avoca Street, where they immediately opened a High School. In the following January they also took charge of the parochial school which for some time had been conducted by the Sisters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, Ken­sington. It may be fitting to add here, that when His Eminence the Cardinal returned from Rome at the end of the year, he visited Randwick on December 7, accompanied by Archbishop Kelly, Bishop Doyle, Dr. O'Haran and many of the clergy of the Archdiocese to bless and open the fine new Convent of the Brigidine Nuns. The Convent is situated in a most delightful spoti on the Daintry estate, which from henceforth was to be known as Mt. St. Brigid, and commands an extensive ocean view.

His Eminence, who was received by the Very Rev. Father Treand and the Fathers of the Sacred Heart residing in Kensington and Randwick, expressed his gratification at the splendid site which had been secured, saying that his last work in Ireland had been to bless a Church of St. Brigid, so that it was something of a coincidence that his first act on returning to Australia should be to bless the new home of the Daughters of St. Brigid, who were devoting their lives to the noble work of education.

 

BEAUTIFYING OUR LADY'S SHRINE.

For a month or more Our Lady's altar in the Church had been undergoing repairs and reconstruction. One great improvement was, that it had been moved back to the alcove where it was originally placed when the church was built. Under Father Merg's supervision it was now most artistically decorated. Standing on the richly carved marble altar was the beautiful statue of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart. The background to the statue was a mingling of pale blue skies and fleecy clouds, amid which floated celestial cherubs, offering their homage to the Queen of Angels and of men. Tall stems of sweet Annunciation lilies, with their pale green foliage, painted so naturally as from a distance to appear as if plucked from a garden, mingled gracefully with the feathery ferns and palms, which embellished the altar. On the archway around the statue the words of St. Ephrem, "She is the Hope of the hopeless," reminded all who knelt there, that Our Lady is never appealed to in vain. The walls in pale blue tints were decorated with an exquisite design in gold where the monogram of our Lady of the Sacred Heart was inter­mingled with glittering crosses and the "fleurs-de-lis" in white. Below, a broad dado in silver and underneath gracefully hanging rosary-beads, reminded Mary's children that one of the most powerful means of obtaining a favour is to recite fervently the Rosary. On the outer archway was again seen the monogram of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart and on either side fes­toons of lilies gracefully depending from it. The floor of the little sanctuary was paved with white marble, the rich carpet in subdued blue tones with which it was partly covered harmonising completely with the altar decorations. Such was the second shrine of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart which the new one is to replace on a larger and grander scale. The altar was most beautifully decorated for the May devotions with the choicest of flowers and was admired exceedingly by all those who came to beg favours at Our Lady's shrine.

 

NEW ALTAR FOR ST. JOSEPH

A marble altar in honour of St. Joseph took the place of the wooden one. It was the gift of the Purgatorian Society, and is more in keeping with the High altar and Our Lady's altar. The statue of the Sacred Heart, which formerly dominated the first High Altar, had been placed on a carved wooden altar under the archway outside the sanctuary rails. It now stands on St. Joseph's altar.

 

ORDINATION OF THE FIRST TWO STUDENTS FROM THE MONASTERY

At the close of this year (1902), on the eve of the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, two young aspirants to the priesthood who had just completed their studies at the Sacred Heart Monastery were ordained by His Grace Archbishop Kelly. Father Nouyoux, M.S.C., and Father Courbon, M.S.C., are the first fruits of the Sacred Heart Missionary College, founded by the Fathers of the Sacred Heart, to whose Society are confided the vast Mission fields of New Guinea, New Britain, the Gilbert and Marshall Islands. It may be readily understood, therefore, that this first ordination amongst the number of their young aspirants to the self-sacrificing life of a Missionary priest must have been a source of deep gratification to the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart and to their venerated Superior. They were but two of the many who would enter the vast Mission field of Australia and the Islands of the Pacific, where the harvest is so great and the labourers as yet so few. On the Feast of the Immaculate Con­ception, both the newly-ordained priests celebrated their first Mass—Father Courbon in the College chapel at Kensington, and Father Nouyoux in the Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, at which it was the privilege of the people of Randwick to be present and to receive his first priestly blessing.

 

DEATH OF BROTHER STANISLAUS

Less than a week laterj Brother Stanislaus, a holy and zealous Lay Brother attached to the Presbytery died rather suddenly at 4 a.m. Father Treand was with him, and as soon as he had expired, Mass was celebrated for the repose of his soul at 4.30 by Father Treand.

 

DEATH OF POPE LEO XIII

In July, 1903, to the great grief of the whole Catholic world, His Holiness Pope Leo XIII passed to his eternal reward after the second longest reign of all the sovereign Pontiffs who had occupied the Chair of St. Peter. His Holiness had great devotion to Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, and when a Cardinal, was the first to inscribe his name in the register of the Archconfraternity in his diocese of Perugia. In 1880, Leo XIII confided to the care of the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, the vast Missions of Micronesia and Melanesia, and just before the death of the illustrious Pontiff the Fathers of the Society were made aware of the fact that His Holiness had entrusted to them a New Mission field in the North eastern territory of New Guinea. But the Church did not remain long without a Ruler, for on August 9 there was Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament in the Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart in thanksgiving for the elevation of Cardinal Sarto, Patriarch of Venice, to the Chair of St. Peter.

 

DEATH OF FATHER CHETAIL, M.S.C.

In March, 1904, the Sacred Heart Fathers, to their deep regret, received the news of the death of Rev. Father Henry Chetail, M.S.C., at Campbell Town, Tasmania. Father Chetail who had laboured in the parish of Botany for two years or more, was chosen by his Superiors as founder of the Tasmanian branch of the Society of Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, and during the short time he had been exercising his ministry there, he had endeared himself to all, and his death filled the hearts of his people with deepest sorrow at his untimely end.

 

MASSACRE IN NEW BRITAIN

In September, 1904, news was brought to the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart by Rev. Father Linckens, M.S.C., of the terrible massacre on August 13th of Missionaries and Nuns of the Catholic Station of St. Paul in the Baining Mountains, New Britain, when two Priests, three Brothers and five sisters were martyred by natives. The attack came as a complete surprise, and was made at 9 o'clock in the morning. It appears that the murderers stood by their victims until the signal svas given by the leader, Tomari. He was the only murderer with a gun which he had borrowed from the Missionaries, under the pretext of shooting birds; and he shot Father Rascher while he sat reading in his house. Brother Bley was engaged in some joinery work when a native murdered him with an axe. Brother Edward Plasehaert was engaged in the same work and was afterwards found dead with his rule and pencil clasped in his hand. Brother Johann Schellekens was killed whilst working on a staircase in the new church. Sister Anna heard the shot fired that killed Father Rascher and ran to his assistance. She was followed by Tomari, who shot her through the head. Sister Sophia and Sister Agatha were murdered while engaged in tending sick natives. Sister Agnes was engaged in needlework, and Sister Angela was murdered while decorating the altar of the new church of St. Paul and her body was found on the altar steps.

 

MASS AT ST. MARY'S CATHEDRAL

On September 22, a large congregation assembled at St. Mary's Cathedral on the invitation of the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart to take part in the Dirge and Solemn Requiem Mass for the victims of the Massacre. In the seats near the sanctuary were numbers of leading citizens, while in the great choir of priests there were representatives of every Religious Order labouring amongst us, as well as nearly the whole of the clergy of the city and suburban parishes.

His Eminence the Cardinal presided 5 the Right Rev. Monsignor O'Brien was the celebrant of the Requiem Mass, Very Rev. Father Marion, S.M., provincial of the Marists, the Deacon, and Rev. Father Moynagh, P.P., the Sub-deacon. The Right Rev. Monsigpor O'Haran was Master of Ceremonies, and the students of the Sacred Heart College, Kensington, assisted at the ceremonies.

Before giving the Absolution, His Eminence delivered a most beautiful discourse in which he eulogised the devotion and heroism of those who for the love of God had laid down their lives for their neighbour. The devoted Missionaries and Nuns who had perished in New Britain had heard the Divine summons like so many thousands before them, and had devoted their lives to the love of their fellow-men in deeds of charity and mercy and in following the footsteps of our Divine Lord. His Eminence spoke of the long persecution of the Church throughout the course of centuries, and how from age to age the Missionaries of the Gospel had been winning the martyrs' crown. Those whose memory they celebrated that day were the first Martyrs whom the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart had added to the long list of Martyrs to Christ. It was true that for only twenty-five years this Society had been working in the Mission Field but if it had not been hitherto the privilege of the pioneers of the Order to offer up their blood in their Divine Apostolate, they still had been truly quickened by the full spirit of the first Apostles, and for earnestness and self-sacrifice they could not be surpassed. And to-day the first Martyrs of that Order rejoiced before the throne of God and marked the way for others to follow them. When St. Philip Neri saw the students in Rome preparing for Missionary service he addressed them with a sweet salutation: "Avete flores martyrum". His Eminence had himself heard the worthy successor of St. Philip address his fellow-students in the same manner, and he would not hesi­tate to address the same words to the companions of these Martyrs whom they that day commemorated: "Avete flores martyrum!" Walk in the footsteps of those who have gone before you, cherish their heroism of self-sacrifice and self-denial, imitate their example, that you may merit to be with them in their triumph!

 

FOUR MORE STUDENTS ORDAINED

Four students from the Sacred Heart Monastery, Kensington, were amongst those raised to the priesthood on November 30th of this year (1904), by His Eminence Cardinal Moran at St. Mary's Cathedral— Fathers Lee, Graham, Morell and Roulier, M.S.C.'s. On the two succeeding days each of the newly-ordained celebrated Mass in the Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart and bestowed their blessing on the congre­gation.

 

GOLDEN JUBILEE OF THE SOCIETY OF MISSIONARIES OF THE SACRED HEART

The Golden Jubilee of the Definition of the Immac­ulate Conception which was pronounced fifty years ago in St. Peter's, Rome, by the saintly Pius IX., was solemnly celebrated on December 8th.

In all the Churches in Australia the festival was observed with due solemnity and impressive ceremonial. This great festival was celebrated with extraordinary spiritual joy and gratitude by the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, for it was also the Golden Jubilee of the foundation of their Society, for on that day the two young priest-founders saw the fulfilment of a long-cherished dream. "We only desire to do the Will of God," said they, "and to learn that Divine Will we will make a Novena to Our Lady. Very soon the Church will proclaim her Immaculate. Let us ask of her, as the first fruit of the incomparable glory which is to crown her brow, to obtain from the Heart of Jesus the foundation of this Society."

And their faith and confidence were not in vain, for on the very morning that the Dogma of the Immaculate Conception was proclaimed, the means of carrying out their magnificent project came into their hands, in a manner that might be called miraculous. In Randwick then, fitting preparations were made for the observance of the glorious Feast.

A Novena in honour of Our Lady, and the Devotion of the "Forty Hours" attracted crowded congregations, during the preceding days and on the Feast itself, when four Masses were celebrated, almost everyone in the parish receiving Holy Communion. A special feature was that the four newly ordained priests from the Sacred Heart Monastery, Kensington, celebrated Mass at Our Lady's shrine and assisted at the ceremonies in her honour.

At the close of the year 1904, which brings the second part of thisjittle history to a close, the Fathers who ministered to the spiritual wants of the people of Randwick and Coogee were the Very Rev. Father Treand, Father Merg, Father Borman and Father Buckley; also Brother Ferdinand, who for many years dis­charged the duties of sacristan.

Twenty years! In the words of the Irish poet:

"Ah! what memories Loom for a moment Gleam for a moment And vanish away!"

 

PART III.—1905-1935.

NEED OF NEW CHURCHES

With the year 1905, there dawned a new era in Catholic Randwick, now one of the most flourishing parishes in the Archdiocese. From the portals of the Sacred Heart Monastery in Kensington there came forth year by year, young Australian Missionary priests, enrolled beneath the standard of the Sacred Heart to do their part in furthering the wide-spread activities of their Society.

And indeed "the fields were ripe for the harvest" not only in the "fair Islands of the Southern Seas," but throughout the Land of the Southern Cross. So rapidly had the Catholic population of the parish increased, that it was deemed absolutely necessary to build, in the near future, churches and schools both in Coogee and Kensington in order to supply the spiritual wants of the people. The first group of Australian priests were soon labouring at their allotted posts either in parochial work at Randwick, or in the more distant missions.

 

SACRAMENT OF CONFIRMATION AT RANDWICK.

In August, 1906, His Grace Archbishop Kelly administered the Sacrament of Confirmation to over one hundred children in the Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart. His Grace spoke at length to the children on the love, reverence and obedience due by children to their parents as God's representatives on earth, and on the daily life which should mark them as good Christians and Catholics and as worthy citizens and members of a great Commonwealth. He warned them of the dangers of mixed marriages and emphasised the evils of drunkenness. He exhorted all to be faithful to the graces of that day and asked all to take the pledge of total abstin­ence, which, he said, instead of shortening would only lengthen life and make it happy.

 

CENTENARY OF THE BRIGIDINE ORDER

In February, 1907, the centenary of the Brigidine Order, was celebrated with special solemnity at Mount St. Brigid. The Golden Jubilee of the Rev. Mother Provincial, Mother Mary John Synan, fell at the same time and the day was made one of joy for the venerable religious who had spent fifty years of her life in the cloister.

His Eminence the Cardinal presided at the High Mass, which was celebrated by the Very Rev. Father Treand, M.S.C., assisted by Father T. Hayden and Father Borman, M.S.C. His Lordship Bishop Murray was also present as well as Monsignor Carroll, V.G., and many priests from various parts of the State.

To commemorate the happy occasion of Mother John's Golden Jubilee as well as the centenary of the Order, His Eminence the Cardinal proposed the erection of a new school-hall at Mount St. Brigid, and gave his mark of approval by donating one hundred guineas. A liberal response to His Eminence's proposal was made by those present.

 

BLESSING OF NEW CHAPEL AT KENSINGTON CONVENT

In December of this year (1907), His Grace Arch­bishop Kelly visited Kensington for the purpose of blessing the foundationText Box:  
stone of the new Chapel and other additions to the Convent of our Lady of the Sacred Heart, the Mother-House of the Congregation of Sisters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart in Australia. His Grace was welcomed by Rev. Father Merg, M.S.C.; Father Courbon, M.S.C. and the Fathers of the Sacred

Heart Monastery. His Grace in his address referring to the work of the Nuns in the Mission-fields said: "These Sisters went forth with the Cross in their hands, and often risked their lives for it. They were doing in the Islands what St. Patrick did for Ireland."

 

....DEPARTURE OF FATHER MERG FOR FRANCE

In July, 1908, Father Merg returned to Randwick after an absence of four months, during which time he visited the Philippine Islands for the purpose of paving the way for the Fathers, of the Society to take up Missionary work in that distant field. The "Annals" of that period contain some interesting articles on his experiences, and on Catholic life in the Philippine Islands, "which shall ever stand as a grand monument of the disinterestedness and zeal of Catholic Spain."

Father Merg had made many trips to the Islands in the interest of the Missions, during his residence in Randwick, and as one of our pioneer priests, we regretted very deeply his departure from amongst us in November 1909 when he returned to France.

 

 

DEATH OF CARDINAL MORAN

The death of His Eminence Cardinal Moran in 1911 caused universal sorrow throughout the Commonwealth, and the priests and people of Randwick were not behind­hand in expressing their sympathy. His Eminence had paid many visits to the parish since the day he blessed and opened the Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart. Ever a true friend to the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, it is their consoling privilege to remember that they received a treasured message on the eve of His Eminence's death, conveying a blessing to the infant Mission at Port Darwin and Bathurst Island, confided to Monsignor Gsell, Vicar-Apostolic, and enclosing a handsome subsidy for the Missionaries.

 

SCHOOL-CHURCH BUILT AT KENSINGTON

In the meantime building operations went on apace, for there was still much to be done in the way of provid­ing churches and schools in the district. A fine block of land was secured at Kensington close to the Monastery, and the Church of the Rosary built in 1906. It was also used as a school in order to provide education for the Catholic children of that rapidly growing suburb, and confided to the Sisters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart.

 

BUILDING OF A CHURCH AT COOGEE

.In Coogee, the popular sea-side suburb, there was also a crying need for a Church, apart from Randwick. A plot of ground was secured in Mount Street and a school-church opened in 1911 but this very soon was found to be totally inadequate for the large congregation. A fine site was secured in Brook St., and the splendid new Church of St. Brigid was begun in 1921, when His Grace Archbishop Kelly blessed the foundation stone.

Thus Coogee became a distinct parish with Father Gilbert in charge. The original school-church was demolished and a new school erected in the church grounds, which was placed in charge of the Sisters of St. Brigid.

 

OUR LADY'S NURSES OF THE POOR

There is one charitable work in the parish of Coogee, unique in character, and heroic in its conception, which is conducted by "Our Lady's Nurses of the Poor." In April, 1913, Father McGrath, M.S.C., opened "Our Lady's Home" in Dudley Street, Coogee. This ideal charity was the joint work of Miss Eileen O'Connor— a young girl who had been an invalid for eighteen years —and Father McGrath.

Nurse Teresa McLaughlin was chosen as leader of the little band of Nurses, who have now for almost twenty-three years devoted their lives to nursing and tending the very poorest of the poor in their own homes; all, regardless of colour, race or religion, come under their comforting and loving ministrations, provided they are destitute.

On August 15th, Feast of the Assumption, His Grace Dr. Sheehan visited "Our Lady's Home" in order to bless and open their little chapel. It was a day for which the Nurses had ardently longed—the day when Our Divine Lord would come "and dwell amongst them." After the celebration of the Holy Sacrifice His Grace addressed the Nurses on the subject of their great work of mercy and charity, encouraging them to persevere, and ended by saying that he "was sure Our Divine Lord would never be lonely in 'Our Lady's Home.'" His Grace then gave Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament, and the beautiful proceedings closed.

 

SILVER JUBILEE OF THE "ANNALS."

In 1913 the "Annals of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart" reached a quarter of a century of publication and are mentioned here as a tiny silver thread among the glittering gold of Rand wick's jubilee. The little harb­ingers of Our Lady, founded by Father Merg, fostered and encouraged for many years by Father Treand, have played no small part in spreading devotion to Our Lady under this inspiring title, for the "Annals" are welcomed now everywhere throughout the length and breadth of Australia and far beyond, bringing with them messages of love and confidence and many a consoling thought to suffering and despairing hearts. In the earlier years of their publication Father John Lee and Father Graham did much to promote the spread of the "Annals" and this work is now carried on by the Fathers of the Sacred Heart at the Monastery, Kensington, the head-quarters of the "Annals."

 

MEMORABLE MISSION OF 1915

A Memorable Mission was given in August, 1915. On   the   morning   of   the   opening   day,   His   Grace Archbishop Kelly visited Randwick in order to administer the Sacrament of Confirmation and preached at the last Mass. In the evening the Mission was opened by Father Goodman and Father Moloney, and at all the exercises of the Mission which lasted a fortnight the church was crowded.

 

VISIT OF THE APOSTOLIC DELEGATE

On Sunday, September 5th, His Excellency the Apo­tolic Delegate, Dr. Cerretti, came to close the Mission and to impart the Papal Blessing. An open-air reception to His Excellency was held in the Church grounds, where he was welcomed by Very Rev. Father Treand as follows:

"May it please your Excellency,

"On the happy day of your arrival on our Australian shores, we were one with the Catholics of Sydney and our venerated Archbishop in offering you an affectionate welcome. But to-day when you deign to visit us, when we are honoured with your presence it is a need for our hearts to express to you once more our sentiments of deep veneration for your Excellency, and for the exalted office entrusted to you by Our Holy Father Pope Benedict XV.

"We all feel that you are for us like the eye, the hand, the heart of him, who to the eyes of our faith is the Vicar of Christ, the Shepherd of our souls.

"Through you he sees us, through you he guides us, through you he blesses us. "The day of your visit to Randwick will be long cherished by us while the blessing we solicit for us to­day, for our homes and families, our schools, our devoted communities, will be to all the pledge of heavenly favours.

"On behalf of the people and priests of Randwick.

"PETER TREAND, M.S.C."

On the same day His Excellency paid a visit to the Sacred Heart Monastery, Kensington, where he was welcomed by the Very Rev. E. Nouyoux, M.S.C., Provincial, on behalf of the local Community ag well as the Fathers of the Randwick parish and of the Douglas Park, Apostolic School.

 

FATHER TREAND'S SILVER JUBILEE AS PARISH PRIEST

In September, 1916, a magnificent demonstration took place when the Catholic people of Randwick and Coogee and many non-Catholic friends assembled to celebrate the Silver Jubilee of the arrival in Randwick of the Very Rev. Father Treand, M.S.C. Mr. Thomas Payten occupied the chair, and paid a high tribute to Father Treand's work in Randwick during the past twenty-five years. The Secretary of the Committee, Mr. L. J. Dew, also spoke in glowing terms of Father Treand, and on behalf of the people presented an address, outlining the vast work achieved by the devoted Pastor of Randwick.

The Very Rev. Father Smith, M.S.C., speaking on behalf of the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, said, "I deem it a very great honour to be called upon to express in the name of Father Treand's Australian children, the Australian Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, some of our feelings of gratitude and sentiments of esteem. I say some of these feelings, because most of them are too deep and sacred for expression and are best vented in the silence of prayer. It is twenty-five years since Father Treand set foot on Australian soil. The day of his landing has proved for Australians and Australia a blessed day and in the name of both I now say with a full heart, "Thanks be to God."

Father Smith went on to speak of Father Treand's great work in building the Monastery, but not content with this, how he added to his financial burden by securing large property at Douglas Park, where the Apostolic School is now established, the nursery of future Missionaries of the Sacred Heart.

When Father Treand rose to reply, he was greeted with enthusiastic applause.

"I am deeply moved," said the venerated priest, "almost overcome by this demonstration of your esteem and affection. If the lips speak out of the fulness of the heart, I should have no difficulty in replying to your various addresses, in thanking you for your gift, but there is a fulness of emotion that renders a man almost speechless."

In tracing backward the work of the past twenty-five years, Father Treand referred to the beginnings of the Kensington Monastery when many were the prophecies made about its future, most of them far from being bright and encouraging, but the work was blessed by the late Cardinal, who often said that Australia like the dear old Island of the West, would yet become a great Missionary country. And God had blessed the work. Kensington soon proved insufficient; Douglas Park was later on added to it, and Douglas Park was already enlarging its tents. The priests educated at Kensington numbered close on fifty, working in various fields in Australia, Tasmania, Northern Territory and New Guinea. Kensington is proud of having given five of its sons as chaplains to our troops at the front.

Amongst the visitors on this occasion was the Rev. Canon Cakebread of St. Jude's, Randwick, who paid a glowing tribute to Father Treand's work.

 

JUBILEE FETE AT "BALLARAT"

In connection with Father Treand's Silver Jubilee, the Children of Mary decided to organise a Garden Party on a small scale, in order to clear off the remnant of the Church Debt, as a special offering to their venerated Director. Mrs. Christie very generously lent the grounds of her residence, "Ballarat," for the celebration, and the date chosen was Father Treand's birthday, November 25. Then the question arose, "Whom shall we ask to open the Fete?" for really, it was not an important parochial affair, but a family gathering of Children of Mary and their friends. Several names were suggested, then one, of those present in an inspired moment, said, "Why not ask His Excellency the Apostolic Delegate? Dr. Cerretti is noted for his unvarying kindness of heart and would not refuse to give this pleasure to Father Treand." To the great joy of all those concerned, His Excellency most graciously accepted the invitation, and thus it happened that the Holy Father's representative honoured the Children of Mary by his presence at their gathering, the happy memories of which must surely yet remain with all those privileged to be present.

Father Treand was greeted with the old familiar song "Many happy returns of the day," and presented with an illuminated address and other suitable gifts from the Sodality.

Amongst those present to greet His Excellency and Very Rev. Father Treand, were the very Rev. Father Nouyoux, M.S.C. Provincial, Very Rev. Father Fleming, M.S.C., Very Rev. Father Kennedy, O.F.M.; Rev. Father Bryant, M.S.C.; and other Missionaries of the Sacred Heart.

A brisk business was done during the afternoon, with the result that the object for which the Fete had been organised was readily attained, and the Church Debt— for the time being—wiped out.

 

ENLARGEMENT OF THE PRESENT CHURCH

In the year 1917, Father Treand saw the advisability of enlarging the Church and of increasing at the same time the rather cramped school accommodation; for the congregation had increased with unexampled rapidity, and the church was now more uncomfortably crowded than was the original school-church in the early days.  This great work the venerated. Father, now growing old in the service of his flock, undertook and carried out with all his wonted zeal.

The work was soon put in hand 5 the sanctuary dismantled, the altars carefully removed and St. Joseph's altar re-erected in the nave for the celebration of Mass. The foundation stone was laid by His Grace Archbishop Kelly on October 12th, 1919.

The old school-church was demolished in order to make way for the new, but not without many regrets from the "pioneers," for it had witnessed the small beginnings of Catholicity in Randwick, and had been the scene of many mirthful revels during its long span of years.

The new Church, or perhaps it should be said the completed Church, was blessed and opened by His Grace Archbishop Kelly on Sunday, October 2, 1921.

 

IMPROVEMENTS IN THE NEW BUILDING

The improvements in the new building are very striking. The spacious marble-tiled Sanctuary is perfectly adapted for fittingly carrying out the solemn ceremonies of the Church, and a much larger space reserved for Our Lady's special shrine. The sanctuary has been enriched with one of the finest and most artistic stained-glass windows in Australia. It is in itself a volume of inspiration and elevating thought. It is always beautiful—at the first flush of dawn when glimmering and glinting with light it gradually irradiates the sanctuary—at noon when streams of radiance add to its splendour—and again at eve when the "farewell beams" of day slowly enshroud its beauty in darkness.

The window has as its central figure Our Lady of the Sacred Heart surrounded by Angels, Patriarchs, Prophets, Martyrs, Confessors and Virgins over whom she reigns as Queen. There are also most beautifully depicted the principal events in the Life of Our Lord in union with His Blessed Mother. The window which cost about £2,000 is the joint gift of the Gearin, Eagles and Rowan families, priests and parishioners.

Another beautiful gift is the richly-carved pulpit, made by Mr. Hahn and presented by the Payten family in memory of their parents.

 

NEW CHAPEL FOR THE BRIGIDINE CONVENT

The Church additions were now completed, but building activities had by no means ceased in the Randwick parish. In the year 1923 the beautiful chapel of the Brigidine Nuns, the foundation stone of which had been laid by Archbishop Kelly, was opened and blessed, and in 1929 Rev. Mother M. Claver, whose lamented death is of recent occurrence, undertook the heavy task of adding a new wing to the existing school buildings, and so completed the magnificent pile which crowns Mount St. Brigid.

 

CORPUS CHRISTI PROCESSION

It had long been the desire of Mother M. Claver to celebrate the Feast of "Corpus Christi" by a Solemn Procession through the charming Convent grounds. This year—1935—saw her wish fulfilled, for Rev. Mother M. Liguori, who succeeded Mother M. Claver as Provincial, organised, in conjunction with Mother M. Anthony, a magnificent procession which was witnessed by hundreds of devout visitors from many suburbs. The Blessed Sacrament was borne by the Very Rev. Father Smith, M.S.C., accompanied by many of the clergy, including the Right Rev. Monsignor Hayden. Two outdoor Benedictions were given at richly adorned temporary altars and the Final Blessing in the Convent Chapel.

 

MARIST BROTHERS COME TO RANDWICK

In 1922 preparations were made for the establishment of Primary and Secondary Schools for boys, and needless to say the advent of the Marist Brothers has proved to be an incalculable blessing to the Catholic Youth of Randwick. "Greenstead," the property of the late Mr. H. Gibson in Alison Road, was purchased by the Marist Brothers in conjunction with the parish, and schools were immediately erected in this very central spot.

The old residence "Greenstead" was soon demolished, and in 1922 the foundation stone of the College was laid by His Grace Archbishop Sheehan and opened the following year.

The new building was soon filled to overflowing, and when Brother Andrew was elected Provincial of the Marist Brothers, Brother Ignatius, who succeeded him as Superior, at once began the erection of the commodious and up-to-date High School which was blessed and opened by His Grace Archbishop Kelly in 1934. "Greenstead Hall," which is used as a Primary School, also does duty as the Parish Hall, and is much in request for Card Parties and other entertainments.

 

.DEATH OF FATHER TREAND

In May, 1926, a great sorrow fell to the lot of the Randwick people, plunging the parish in gloom, for their venerated Pastor, Father Treand, who for thirty-five years had ministered to them, sharing their joys and sorrows, was called to his eternal reward. Although the people were not wholly unprepared for his death, the sad news nevertheless came as a painful shock, for they hoped against hope that God would hearken to their prayers, and restore their well-loved Father to his flock.

Text Box:  ....And a Father in truth he was to all.   The suffering, the aged, the sick and the dying, were his especial care. And how he loved the children!    A "First Communion Day" was to him a day of purest delight, and his thoughts hiight easily have found expression in the simple words: "Ah!    Heaven I think must be alway Quite like a "First Communion Day", so eagerly did he enter into the happiness of the little ones.

Father Treand had the spiritual interests of his flock very much at heart. Every Sunday saw him in the pulpit, sometimes both morning and evening, and his thoughts always beautiful and original, gave special significance to his words. Every evening found him in his Confessional, and every morning after he had celebrated Mass he set out to visit the stricken ones of his flock, bearing with him Our Lord in the Blessed Sacrament to be their comfort and consolation.

When Father Treand arrived in Randwick as Superior of the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, he took charge of the parish wherein he was destined to labour untiringly and unceasingly until his death.

Besides undertaking the building of the Monastery at Kensington, he began the great work of the Apostolic School at Douglas Park in 1904, as a memorial of the Golden Jubilee of the Foundation of the Society of Missionaries of the Sacred Heart. In addition to these Apostolic works, Father Treand conducted many spiritual Retreats for Priests and Religious Communities of Nuns throughout the various dioceses.

A Solemn Office and Requiem Mass were offered in the Church of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, at which His Grace Archbishop Kelly presided, for the eternal repose of the soul of Father Treand. Rev. Father Bridgewood, M.S.C., was celebrant, Rev. Father Power, M.S.C., deacon; Rev. Father Macfarlane, M.S.C., sub-deacon, Brother Taylor, M.S.C., Master of Ceremonies; Very Rev. Father O'Reilly and Rev. Father Bond, cantors.

Besides the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, there were present members of all the Religious Orders, and many priests from city and suburban parishes.

His Grace the Archbishop who delivered the panegyric, paid a fine tribute to Father Treand describing him "as a man highly-gifted in heart and mind, who used his gifts for the greater glory of God, and the welfare of his neighbour."

It was Father Treand's own wish that he should be laid to rest among the people he so much loved, in the Randwick Cemetery. May he rest in peace!

 

FATHER TREAND'S SUCCESSOR

After the death of Father Treand, Father Power, M.S.C., who had been for some time in Randwick, remained in charge until the coming of the Very Rev. Father Smith upon whom the weighty responsibilities of the parish now devolved. It was not long before Father Smith saw the necessity for further building activities. The Presbytery erected over forty years previously, was far too small and out-of-date to meet the needs of a larger community of priests; therefore the old house, had to make way for a new and commodious building, more in keeping with the steadily-increasing wants of the parish.

Father Smith was ably seconded in his efforts by his assistant priests: Father T. O'Loughlin, Father W. H. McCarthy, Father J. O'Connell, Father J. Bourke and Father P. Donovan.

 

MEMORIES OF THE OLD PRESBYTERY

.......To the "old" parishioners many sweet recollections clustered around the first Presbytery. Many of the pioneer Missionaries had sojourned at times within its walls, amongst them the valiant, saintly young Bishop Verius, whose strenuous labours and unheard of auster­ities in the forest recesses of New Guinea, are from beginning to end, a matchless story of heroic enterprise, and holy adventure, born of his burning zeal for souls. There also was the venerable Dr. Navarre, first Archbishop of New Guinea, who was one of the first Missionaries to set out from France, when the evangelisation of these unknown and savage islands was entrusted by Leo XIII to the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart. It was only after thirteen months of travel, of incessant anxiety and hardship, that he, with two companions succeeded in effecting a landing on the inhospitable shores of New Britain. Dr. Couppe, who was first Superior at Randwick and afterwards first Bishop of New Britain, spent over thirty years of his life in evangelising the people of his Island Vicariate, and died a few years ago, worn out with privations, at Douglas Park. Father Bontemps, first Vicar Apostolic of the distant Gilbert Islands, and Dr. Leray, the first Bishop were also familiar figures at the old Presbytery in bygone days.

These are but a few of the well-remembered names enrolled in the past history of Randwick, but to the present-day parishioners, the most hallowed memory of the old Presbytery is that it was the home for over thirty years of our late venerated priest Father Treand, the memory of his zealous, holy life and loving fervour in the service of God being still an inspiration to his people, in whose hearts his memory is enshrined.

The New Presbytery was blessed and opened by His Grace Archbishop Kelly.

 

FATHER SMITH'S SACERDOTAL SILVER JUBILEE

In 1933, Father Smith celebrated his Sacerdotal Silver Jubilee and on this auspicious occasion his parishioners seized the opportunity of testifying to him their deep appreciation of his untiring devotedness to their spiritual interests, and the unswerving affection in which he is held as their Father and friend.

.....The Randwick Picture Theatre was thronged with a representative assemblage of the friends of Father Smith—both clerical and lay—and a monetary presentation was made to the guest of honour, which he generously donated to the erection of the Shrine of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart in memory of Father Treand, which it is the earnest wish of Father Smith to see realised.

It now rests with the devoted people of Randwick to complete in a worthy manner, the work begun fifty years ago by the pioneer priests, and by their generosity to crown the Golden Jubilee Year by raising a shrine to the glory of God and to the honour of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, which will also remain as a perpetual memorial to the venerated priest who spent the greater part of his zealous life in the service of the people of Randwick.

 

SOCIETIES AND SODALITIES OF THE PARISH

Before closing this little history of Catholic Randwick, it may not be out of place to refer to the various activities of the parish in 1935, by way of contrast to the year 1885 when the only society was "The Guard of Honour of the Sacred Heart," established by Father Tierney. It is impossible to recall the names of all the earnest and zealous workers who, throughout the years, have given their best in the cause of religion and charity, but there are some who stand out more prominently than others.

The Children of Mary are in themselves a tower of strength, and their motto seems to be "Always ready." They have undertaken the great work—really a labour of love—of attending to the decoration of the altars and work of the sacristy. Miss M. Olliffe has been for many years President of the Altar Society of which Miss Mary Martin is Secretary.

On the retirement of the first President of Children of Mary, Miss B. O'Donnell succeeded to the Office, which she held for nine years. Succeeding presidents were Miss M. Martin, Miss Stella Maroney, Miss Mary Gillis and Miss Rose Becker.

The statue of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart which occupies the niche so long vacant, over the church doors, was the gift of the Children of Mary.

And while on the subject of gifts, it is due to the generosity of the Misses O'Donnell that the church has been enriched with the exquisite and valuable monstrance, richly wrought and jewelled, which is specially in use during Exposition of the Most Holy Sacrament.

The St. Vincent de Paul Society had for its first President, Mr. Thomas Payten who was succeeded by Mr. L. J. Dew, and in later years by Mr. Thomas Clune. The members not only devote themselves to their own special Mission of relieving the wants of the poor, but are in the vanguard of all church activities.

Mr. Martin Leahey is Secretary. Amongst the most zealous of the Church Wardens are Mr. P. G. Ryan, Mr. E. R. Kearney, Mr. J. H. Cohen, Mr. E. Candrick, and for many years Mr. T. McNamara.

The Randwick centre of "Catholic Action" under the spiritual direction of Father Troy, has control of many activities, amongst them the visitation of the Prince Henry Hospital and the distribution to the inmates of good reading matter, and the religious instruction of children attending State Schools. There is also the flourishing "Little Flower Library" under the guidance of Miss Winnie Walsh, and the Sewing Guild, which supplies clothing for the poor, to be distributed by the St. Vincent de Paul Society.

Monthly "Catholic Action" Meetings are also held at the Marist Brothers College and are regularly attended by Students and Ex-Students.

There are also flourishing branches of the A.H.C. Guild and Hibernian Benefit Societies established in the Parish.

The Debating Society has been for many years a centre of literary and Social life both to young and old. The members also generously do their part in all church works and have done much to assist in reducing the Church Debt by means of entertainments given by them.

The Randwick Catholic Tennis Club is another successful Social centre, with an excellent membership, and a fine place in the realm of sport.

Ever since the resignation of Mr. and Mrs. Brewer, who held the position for twenty years, the Choir has been under the direction of Mr. J. Bermingham.

Much laudable work has been done throughout past years by parishioners of Randwick in the cause of religion and charity, but the outstanding work of Dr. C. J. Fallen, former member for Randwick in the Legislative Assembly must not be forgotten. In the year 1922, Dr. Fallen by his clear reasoning and fearless action, prevented the infamous Bill, making the promulgation of the "Ne Temere" and "Moto Proprio" Decrees a criminal offence, being placed upon the Statute Book. Had it become Law, this unjust measure would have had most disastrous effects, and for this reason Dr. Fallen's action should not be forgotten by the Catholics of New South Wales.

.....The closing reference to workers has been reserved for the Church Secretaries who throughout the years have assisted the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart in the Secretarial work connected with Church finances. The first was Mr. C. Burfitt who was appointed in 1887. He was succeeded by Mr. L. J. Dew who held office for many years, and now the position has for some time been filled by Mr. P. Leo Finn, who still "occupies the chair." My work of love is ended, and gladly I offer it as my tribute at the Shrine of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, for,

"It is one long chapter of memories,

Tender and true and sweet,

That gleam in the past and. the distance

Like lamps that burn at Her feet;

Like stars that will shine forever

For time cannot touch, or stir

The graces that Mary has given,

Or the trust that we give to her."

 

 

MISSIONS

  Mission to Micronesia and Melanesia

 

   Australian Missions

  Northern Territory

 

  Eastern Papua Mission

 

  Japan

 

  Fiji

 

  MSC Australia

 

 OLSH Sisters:

 

  MSC Sisters

 

  PARISHES

 

COLLEGES

 

OTHER APOSTOLATES

 

 Individuals